New year, same me

Here I am on the first day of a new year. Images on social media are telling me I should feel brand new. I’m bombarded with “new year, new me” propaganda, but this year I’m not buying in.

I sent the majority of 2014 settling into my own skin and becoming comfortable with who I am, and more importantly, who I’m not. I don’t feel like changing that just because the date on the calendar is different by a digit. I worked hard to get where I am, and I don’t think a complete 180 is necessary like so many others seem to believe.

That’s not to say I don’t have any areas I wish to improve on. Of course I do. I want to continue and grow in my yoga practice. I want to throw myself more into my writing (hence this blog). I want to get back into biking once I’m not pregnant anymore. I have goals, but most of them are continuing habits I’ve already developed rather than making new ones. With the birth of my daughter in February, graduation in May and a move to who knows where anytime after that, I decided that this year is going to hold plenty of new challenges for me. I don’t need to give myself anymore.

I think people forget that. The life you had on December 31 doesn’t magically go away when the ball drops. You have to make resolutions with what you have. Work with what’s already there. Love it. Nurture it. Get rid of the things you don’t need and hold tightly to the things you do. Just don’t lose sight of who are.

That’s my main goal this year: not to lose sight of who I am amongst all the inevitable changes that are coming in 2015. I’m comfortable with who I am, and it’s taken me a long time to get there.

So cheers to a new year, but rather than change,  I think I’ll just grow.

Leave a Reply

